Nowadays men’s sports are given far more attention by society compared to women’s sports. What are the reasons for that? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Sports are widely seen in all areas of the world. However, most of the audience’s attention is devoted to men’s sports and relatively small is given to women’s sports. This is attributed to gender bias nature of society and better marketing of former. This is negative development since it makes society unequal and set a bad example for unprivileged women.

Women’s sports are often neglected because most of the societies are male-dominated who love to watch only men’s sports, due to this, they want to see women only as cheerleaders, commentators and wives of sports persons. However, they are not welcomed to play sports due to inherent bias for viewing males as sportspersons. Moreover, there are strong marketing campaigns run for men’s sports and the budget for female sport is relatively negligible. To take an example of the Indian Premier League which is cricket match series for male players, received a marketing budget of more than 100 million in 2019. Women’s cricket team that won the World Cup for India, on the other hand , went unnoticed as no marketing campaign was run to celebrate its achievement.

In my view, the phenomenon gradually increases the gender gap in the society that makes women subordinate to men. They are expected to work for men and not compete with them. Moreover, the unequal nature of society is harmful to the economical development of a nation. Women sports are a source of motivation to other women who perform non-sports activities. When a women’s team game recognition, all women feel that they can achieve more. This improve the economic output of a country and makes it more prosperous.

In conclusion, women sports should be given equal importance that men’s sports get. This is important to reduce gender gap. This will make society socially stable and economically prosperous.