Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Many aver that increasing prices on gas will lead to the alleviation and even solving of pollution and traffic problems. I disagree with this prospect and below reasons on which my stance is based as well as possible solutions will be discussed in details.

To begin with, the belief that rocketing prices will solve issues with environment and traffic is questionable. For instance, prices of gasoline have been rising steadily since the 1990s in many countries and this trend has not worked as a deterrent. In fact, during this period of time, the number of cars on the roads has increased dramatically and consequently, both problems have worsened gradually. Thus, it is safe to assume that further rise in prices will not lead to the desirable results.

However, the discussed problems may be addressed effectively in several ways. The most efficient and most controversial solution would be making driving inconvenient. In fact, owning a car provides individuals with many benefits and taking them away may work. To illustrate, expensive parking or even absence of available parking lots near blocks of flats, workplaces, malls and strict speed limits could make driver’s life miserable. If driving an automobile provides a commuter with no advantages, he will likely to abandon it. In fact, those policies have been introduced in London and they have proven to be working well. Thus, discouraging driving through making it troublesome seems to be working.

Finally, raising awareness about the problems caused by car emissions among public would be an apt deterrent as well. This measure will be particularly useful if an accentuation is done on the adverse effect of CO2 on the health of human beings. Many people are seriously concerned with their progeny well-being. If people understood that driving a vehicle causes cancer to them and their beloved ones, the number of commuters who use an automobile will likely sharply drop. Moreover, if public stops driving, the traffic problem will be resolved automatically. Thus discouraging driving via rising awareness appears to be an efficient measure.

In conclusion, although many assume that increasing prices on petrol will force people to give up driving, it seems not to be working. At the same time, such measures as passing new restrictions on the roads and increasing public knowledge about the disadvantageous impact of using a car with an engine powered by fossil fuel on the planet and people seem to be addressing the issue in discussion aptly.