Individuals can do nothing to change society. New developments can

be only brought about by governments and large institutions.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are divided on whether it is possible for individuals to make changes to society. I believe there are many Examples of individual scientists, inventors or even political activists who have made significant contributions which have benefited their societies or mankind in general.

One field in which individuals have made positive changes is that of science, examples of which are medicine and Electricity. With regard to the former, a British scientists called Sir Alexander Fleming accidentally discovered penicillin when he noticed that bacteria could not survive near certain fungi. This discovery, the first antibiotic, has saved millions

of lives throughout the world. As far as electricity is concerned, perhaps the greatest scientist of all was Nicola Tesla, without whose inventions in this field we might not have the safe system of distributing electricity by alternating current that we have today. Among his other inventions were radio waves which are used to broadcast TV and radio, and of

course wifi.

Apart from science, a number of political activists have also made significant contributions to their societies, and have helped to win freedom for their people. Perhaps the most famous of these was Mahatma Gandhi, an Indian lawyer who helped to win independence for his nation from the British with his unique style of peaceful protest, which was later an inspiration to other leaders in the 20th century. For example, in the US, a black civil rights leader called Martin Luther King

acknowledged the influence of Gandhi. King’s passionate style and nonviolent protests against segregation helped to bring about political change for black people in that country.

In conclusion, the scientists, inventors, and activists mentioned above show clearly that individuals can contribute greatly to their societies, so it is not true that they cannot change society