Some people think that museums should be enjoyable places to
entertain people, while others believe that the purpose of museums is
to educate.
Discuss both views and give you own opinion
People have different views about the role and function of museums. In my
opinion, museums can and should be both entertaining and educational.
On the one hand, it can be argued that the main role of a museum is to
entertain. Museums are tourist attractions, and their aim is to exhibit a
collection of interesting objects that many people want to see. The average
visitor may become bored if he or she has to read or listen to too much
educational content, so museums often put more of an emphasis on
enjoyment rather than learning. This type of museums is designed to be
visually spectacular, and it may have interactive activities or even games as
part of its exhibitions.
On the other hand, some people argue that museums should focus on
education. The aim of any exhibition should be to teach visitors something
that they did not previously know. Usually this means that the history behind
the museum’s exhibits needs to be explained, and this can be done in various
ways. Some museums employ professional guides to talk to their visitors,
while other museums offer headsets so that visitors can listen to detailed
commentary about the exhibition. This way, museums can play an important
role in teaching people about history, culture, science and many other aspects
of life.
In conclusion, it seems to me that a good museum should be able to offer an
interesting, enjoyable and educational experience so that people can both
have fun and learn something at the same time.