Instead of training a few athletes to win medals at the Olympics, governments should spend the money on programmes encouraging the public to be active and stay healthy.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While governments invest in the professional preparation of their national sportsmen for the Olympic Games, many people argue that that money should be better spent on activity programs to improve the level of public health. I do not fully agree with the argument and believe that people need both their national heroes and public activities.

Olympic winners inspire others to do sports. Because people see them training hard, looking strong and healthy, they feel motivated to become like their role models. This can be seen among teenagers, who are our future, and if they see their favourite athletes fail, it becomes hard for them to believe in themselves. That is why the government's financial support for Olympic athletes' training is essential.

Meanwhile, governmental health programs should be implemented too because of their ability to involve more people in an active lifestyle. During sports outdoor events, people can meet their relatives, friends, co-workers, neighbours, and this creates a positive, friendly atmosphere between the participants and motivates them to attend such activities. The prime example would be a campaign started by the First Lady of the United States Michelle Obama when she encouraged a significant number of school students and their families to dance, play tennis and do other activities with her. The success of the campaign was incredible.

In conclusion, while financing the programmes encouraging the people to have an active and healthy lifestyle is an asset, Olympic athletes' training also should be sponsored by governments; this would enable them to win the international competition and be an inspiration for others.