A person’s health is their own responsibility rather than the government’s responsibility.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued whether only a person should be responsible for their state of health, or the authorities must take care of their citizens. I agree that health should be everyone's priority, but I also believe that the government should provide everyone with their support. In the following essay, I will explain my position.

As it was previously said, people should take care of their own health and must not burden it on the government. It is easy for someone sick to blame the others for not helping; however, when one is feeling unwell, they do not expect a Minister to drive them to a hospital. Instead, they request medical help by making a call for an ambulance. Therefore, without their own actions, people should not expect to receive treatment. Besides that, everyone should have a healthy lifestyle, like consuming healthy nutrition, doing sports, having a balanced sleep, reducing bad habits. Those actions would guarantee a good health condition and prevent a number of health issues.

Meanwhile, people cannot take care of their health without having access to medical institutions and not overpriced drugs, so the state has to provide those. Since many medicines and medical services are quite expensive for some people, the state should come up with reforms to make the former affordable for everybody. For example, the Ministry of Health in Ukraine has a system of public hospitals where people can come and receive either free or low-cost medical treatment. This is extremely helpful for those who are out of money and require immediate support.

To conclude, in terms of keeping somebody healthy, both a person and the government should cooperate. While people h to organize their healthy routine and take actions in times of need, the authorities have to make sure of all medical services to be affordable and accessible for the people.