Should students be allowed to choose which classes they take, or should they be required to take the same classes as everyone else?

What are the advantages and disadvantages of each approach to education?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While some schools enable their students to choose the subjects they would like to study, other schools have a general curriculum for everybody. Each education system has its benefits and drawbacks that will be described further.

On the one hand, students obtain a qualification in a certain field if they can attend only the classes they prefer. Because they do not have to spend time on studying other disciplines, they focus on mastering several subjects. Therefore, such students become highly-qualified in a specific field of studying. Moreover, such students have higher education results because they are more motivated than other students, whose time and effort are spread on numerous disciplines to study. Recent studies of the Jacksonville College showed that while 75% of students who had a personal curriculum scored only A during finals, only 33% of the regular students achieved the same score. Undoubtedly, this is an advantage of the liberal approach and is what a classic one lacks.

Meanwhile, if all students attend only the classes they want to, this might backfire with a lack of knowledge in other essential subjects. Whether students like it or not, but some classes are necessary and must be mastered. For example, in college, I was not a fan of physics and tried to skip its classes the whole time. However, when I started working with blind people, I found myself having a need in knowledge of lenses that I could have obtained during the physics classes. This is a drawback that students can face if they do not attend all the classes like it is required in a classical approach.

To conclude, while personalized education curriculum benefits to students with a qualification in a specific field and higher scores, they may miss the opportunity to study other essential information.