In the past, most people spent their entire career working for one company, whereas people nowadays move from one job to another.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of each? Which do you think is better?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Previously, people used to think that the best way to build a career was to stick to one company for years; however, this pattern has changed, and these days, people are jumping from one company to another changing their jobs like gloves. I consider changing jobs as a better strategy to develop a career but will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of both.

The main advantage of working for one company for a long time is the reduction of the employee's level of stress. People feel more relaxed in a familiar environment with the co-workers they have known for a while. They feel safe and supported by others and, thus, stress out less than those who tend to change their workplaces often. In Ukraine, for example, people of some professions, like teachers, devote their lives working at one place in the whole career because school members treat each other as a member of one big family creating a comfort zone for everybody in it.

Meanwhile, such a monotone life can lower a person's productivity level. They get used to the routine without challenge and, therefore, may lose the passion for self-improvement. Perhaps, that is the reason why the Ministry of Education in Ukraine demands all teachers to spend at least 30 hours on qualification courses annually.

If you look at the bright side of the constant change in workplaces, the most significant benefit would be a valuable experience. The knowledge and skills people obtain working in multiple places help them build an impressive resume. As a result, it will significantly reverse one from other candidates trying for a job of their dreams. For example, my husband has worked for three companies in the last ten years and received only the best characteristics from each of them. Recently, he was selected from many candidates for a position of the General Manager on Amazon, and the main reason for that was the successful experience and skills he had got from the previous jobs.

However, changing jobs can impact people's personal lives significantly. Because a new job can be located long far from one's home, they must leave their houses and travel somewhere where the new office is. For many people, especially with families and children, it is enormously hard to move altogether. In America, for example, 25 per cent of divorces are caused by distance couples have working apart in different states. In addition to that, their children suffer too.

To conclude, I believe that building a career it is better to have multiple-jobs experience than dedicate the whole life working at one place. With both strategies are not perfect, people should consider possible benefits and risks and make wise decisions on the way to achieve their career goals.