The Internet has changed the way we interact with each other now compared to in the past.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

You should write at least 250 words

Communicative channels have evolved over the past few decades with the latest introduction being the use of web-based networks. There are some who believe that online modes of communications have changed the way people connect with each other in contrast to their previous interactions. This essay will discuss in detail how this change brought about various benefits while looking at certain drawbacks.

The most crucial benefit of a web-based interaction is the speed with which it connects people with each other. Unlike earlier, people across the oceans are not only able to hear but also see each other, that too in real time. For example, Skype enables families to get connected to their loved ones, who can see each other while talking and this has become the most preferred forms of communication as on date. Another important advantage is the cost effectiveness of this medium. Despite being able to project images and transfer data in a matter of seconds, the charges are cheap when compared to calling through a phone which even today costs huge money. For instance, the user only needs to subscribe to internet every month depending on his usage pattern and all other facilities are made available to him without extra cost. Therefore, internet has made life convenient for one and all as against the traditional forms of interactions used previously.

In contrast, there are many reasons which do not make the use of online interaction the best channel for communication. The biggest disadvantage is the lack of social life as people prefer spending too much time indoors on the net instead of making friends and socializing. For example, an article published in The Times in 2017 stated that more than 30% of adults do not interact with their neighbors but are logged into an online system to chat with people in different countries. In addition, too much of web-based interactions are proving to be extremely harmful to children who prefer sitting at home than indulging in physical activity. This is not only hampering their physical growth but also their mental development. For instance, children nowadays do not hang out with friends and explore their surroundings. Instead, too much time is spent infront of a computer or a gadget which numbs their mind and affects their growth.

To conclude, there is no doubt that internet has solved many problems with people who want to stay connected with others at a cheaper rate. However, overuse of this has certainly affected our society, including adults and children, making it necessary exercise self control.