The internet has transformed the way information is shared and consumed,

but it has also created problems that did not exist before.

What are the most serious problems associated with the internet and what

are the possible solutions

It is undeniable that the web technologies have completely modified the methods of sharing information. However, it has also given birth to technological threats such as hacking and data leak, which could be handled by taking suitable precautions.

The principal problem associated with online information sharing is data stealing. In this era of the internet, various ways have been developed to gain unapproved access to private records. Hackers are now even successful in hacking the top-secret files of high-level government departments. Russian hackers last year, for instance, stole the confidential data of the Central Investigation Agency of the United States and published the same on the public forums. So, it could be easily analyzed that when these intruders are capable to attack the most secure databases, then how simple is for them to do the same to a common man.

To tackle the above issue, information owners need to be proactive in protecting their data. In other words, many firewalls and anti-viruses are available to prevent the hacking attack and protect the information. To illustrate, I have installed an AVG firewall on my system, which worked effectively in protecting my documents. Nevertheless, many times my firewall has shown that unauthorized users have tried to access my information, but the software always identified that and blocked access. Therefore, it is fair to say that proactive attitude plays a critical role in preventing cyber-attacks.

In conclusion, although illegal intrusion is the concerning issue associated with the transfer of information online, the same could be prevented by installing the appropriate tools in the computer systems.