It is generally accepted that families are not as close as they used to be.

Give some reasons why this change has happened and suggest how families could be brought close together.

Include examples from your own experience.

Traditionally, people have always lived in joint families. Then came an era when families started to divide and became more nuclear families including husband, wife and kids but still living close by and in the same town.Today we see this equation even further diving the families when some family members move out to different town or even different country. If it is about kids going out for college or husband got a new job in the city, every family now experiencing that they are not as close as they used to.

There are many reasons people make decisions to move away from home. One most popular reason is for study. In order to get higher education in reputed colleges, which not always is present in your hometown, student have to move out to different city or state. Other most popular reason is work. In recent times, we see many multinational companies setting up offices in metro cities around the countries attracting students and experienced workers alike. These high paying jobs comes with a cost for the candidate to move away from their families. Not to mention, one unpopular reason which people secretly wish and drives them to move out is freedom! Yes, young people want to live life on their own terms and not abide by rules of their parents but set their own path, which actually makes them independent and opens many door of opportunities.

Talking about my experience, I had to move out for higher education as my hometown did not have colleges I would like. After finishing college, normal choice was to join good company with good pay which led me even further from home. Also, I always wanted to travel the world and experience all aspects of life so I decided to move to different country. Although, I was drifting farther away from family and missed many major events, this experience actually made me appreciate it even more. I would not do this any other way even if given chance.

So, you may ask how can we bring everyone together? One big excuse is holidays, Christmas or Diwali, festivals brings people all around the world together for celebrations. Now, this may not work always as I have missed many festivals being abroad. Other way to connect is to plan vacation together, this needs more planning of course but we have done in past where all siblings can meet in a common city close for everyone. It is better than flying all the way to home.

In conclusion, today moving away from family is more like necessity and there is not sign of it slowing down. It does send people away from families but also brings more opportunities for individuals and in the end they do appreciate each other even more by staying apart but still close to heart.