It has become increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. Some people think that a year off is just a waste of time while others believe that it is necessary. Discuss.

These days the trend of dropping an year after school and before joining university is becoming highly popular, which is a topic of contention among people. Some people believe that by doing this students are wasting time as it takes away a year of continuity from study bringing down their intellectual level, while others claim it to be highly important for the development of students because this gives them a chance to explore a variety of options that they wish to take ahead in university, later. Further, the essay will discuss both the school of thoughts.

On one hand, people share a belief that when students miss a year after school, it is mere wastage of time, nothing else because this creates a gap in their study bringing down their intellectual level by breaking the consistency. It is also believed that students start loosing their interest in their study by taking time off away from books. For example, when student takes an year off away from study, one is tend to enjoy their time by getting involved in their hobbies that they missed out while studying. This further detach him/her from studies and may end up not joing the university later.

On the other hand, people claim that taking a year gap after the school and university allow students to take time for themselves and explore their interests in different fields, which will further help them to take right decision in making a correct choice for their courses that they wish to enroll in university. For instance, while studying students are confused for their future choices because of their varied interests in different fields like hotel management, software engineer, and the like. Thanks to the short term internship programs run by different organization whhich help students to explore their fields of choices further making them confident about their career path that they will choose in university.

To summarize, while some people consider missing a year as sheer wastage of time considering the gap in study, others believe it to be the right choice helping them explore their fields of interests.