It has become increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. Some people think that a year off is just a waste of time while others believe that it is necessary. Discuss.

These days the trend of dropping a year after school and before joining university is becoming increasingly pronounced, which is a topic of contention among people. Some people believe that by doing this, students are wasting time as it takes away a year of continuity from study, thereby bringing down their intellectual level, while others claim it to be highly important for the development of students allowing them a chance to explore a variety of options that they wish to take in university, later. Further, the essay will discuss both the school of thoughts.

Youngsters most often use this year/intermission to travel, learn a whole new language, volunteer, and explore and unlock their capabilities. One also uses this year to spend quality time with family and friends, taking healthy pieces of advice from their wisdom, which in-turn assist them to choose a well-defined and visionary career. As a result, they become mature, confident, and proactive. For example, when student takes an year off away from study, one is tend to enjoy one’s time by getting involved in their hobbies that they missed out while studying. This further potentially detach them from studies and one may perhaps end up not joining the university later. Thus, the fear and concern of the parents is justified.

Next, students are very immature in teen ages; hence, it is highly likely that if they skip a year between secondary and grad schools, they not only lose their interest towards study but also fall into a bad company as a result. For example, a survey by The Guardian newspaper in New York in 2015 has figured out that 60 per cent of students did not continue their university education after taking a year gap after their high schools. Thus, due to these negative outcomes, many people are not in favour of taking a year off.

To summarize, while some people consider skipping a year as a sheer wastage of time considering the gap in study, others believe it to be the right choice helping them explore their fields of interests.