Some parents do not want their children to work part time while in school so that they can concentrate on their studies. Other parents believe their kids should learn to manage study and work duties as this teaches them certain skills they cannot learn at school and therefore better prepared them for the real world.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both views.

In today’s highly competitive world, parents are trying their level best to provide best guidance to their children in terms of studies and work, which is a topic of contention among them, where some believe the focus should be just studies, others claim work is also important to help students get ready for the world. This essay will future explore the pros and cons of both the views.

The advantages of children just focusing on studies are, that this gives more mind space to children to comprehend their learning and get best grades, which are highly required to get admission in good universities. Moreover, students can explore different subjects from their curriculum to find their interest, helping them in making a right choice for their future. On the contrary, this approach limits their learning to a theoritical base only, as children do not get themselves updated by the needs of the professional world. This leads to create a gap between their school learnings and corporate world needs, making it difficult for students to face it in future.

The benefits of pupils working part time with their studies are: firstly, this approach allows them an opportunity to get their hands dirty on the field putting their school learnings into practise. Secondly, it also helps them to learn work - life balance right from the begining of their career; it makes them practically ready to face the challenges thrown by the professional world. On the other side, it takes away the golden period of childrens’ lives that is school life by putting a lot of pressure to work and study together. Also, it results in lowering the grades in school which sometimes lead to depression by creating a sense of failue in their mind.

To conclude, students can achieve higher grades and choose their career by their own by focusing on studies but also leads to a creation of gap between theoritical studies and professional needs. On the other side by working part time it gives them hands on experience of work but also takes away time from their studies, resulting lower marks in school.