It has been claimed that workers over 50 are not responsive to rapidly changing ideas in the modern workplace and that for this reason younger workers are to be preferred.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

This is a controversial topic nowadays, that the current workplace requires more younger professionals than older workers because older workers do not have the capability of changing and the ability of how to apply with new technologies. I strongly disagree with this view for many reasons I will outline below.

On the one hand, the employment of people over fifty years of age are asset to on the organization, Their long experience does not only add a hight value but also helps in taking the accurate decisions. In other words, there are many flexible and intelligent workers over fifty , while there are inflexible and narrow minded younger ones. Consequently , it will depend on the personality type not on age.

On the other hand, in this age of technology, the experience alone will not be suffice. When the internet started ruling over the world, older workers found it very hard to adapt to this sudden change in the workplace. Hence, organizations quickly started to take young professionals who can easily work on computers. Overall, experience does have an advantage, but the job market needs young people who are more adaptive and flexible.

In conclusion ,overall, I would have to say that I disagree with the idea that older workers over fifty not should not hired employed , because there are many of them who can deal with rapidly changing ideas in the modern workplace