You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

It has been claimed that workers over 50 are not responsive to rapidly changing ideas in the modern workplace and that for this reason younger workers are to be preferred.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Write at least 250 words.

Currently there is a contentious argument over whether senior citizens adapt better to changing workplace than employees of younger age group. I believe that senior citizens might be more beneficial in administrative roles that involve decision making. However, the major workforce of any company should prefer younger age group who not only are more zestful but are also equipped to learn more quickly. In this essay I will discuss why I agree that younger workforce is more preferred than elder population in response to changing workplace.

Beyond any qualms there are myriad of rationale reasons that prove that younger employees are more responsive of rapidly changing workplace norms than elderly population. Fresh graduates have their whole career at stake and if they do not learn the new techniques then they will be left behind in their career. Moreover, a newcomer from college who is already aware about the latest technological advancements is likely to catch up even more wistfully as compared to an employee in his sixties who has little or no idea about the latest technology. For example, when computers replaced the file work in rural banks in India it was the younger employees who shouldered the responsibility and completely transformed the workstation with their ability to respond to rapid shift in technology requiring knowledge of software.

On the contrary, some people believe that with age come experiential learning and ability to make instinctive decisions for the whole company. Therefore, these employees are better equipped to handle pressures situations and risk management. However, I believe that employees in their twenties and early thirties have comparatively less personal responsibilities such as managing a kid and other family related issues. This makes them better equipped to dedicate their time, energy and latest technological knowledge for the benefit of the organization with better physical and mental cognitive energy.

In conclusion, I believe that above fifty employees comprise the heart and soul of the company for managing the administrative positions. However, preference should be given to fresh graduates who would not only adapt but even sustain in accordance to the changing work environment.