It has been said that reading for pleasure is better in developing imagination and language skills than watching TV.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past few years, the trend of reading books is decline due to the advent of television. Although some people assert it is a negative development, this essay, however, believe people can learn the language thoroughly and understand concepts into detail with watching TV than reading for fun.

Firstly, with the television one can listen to the plethora of new words with its appropriate pronunciation. While I concede that the reading of the book is independent of place and time, as we can start reading anywhere it does not require a power supply. But the problem is it can be monotonous and daunting since it does not involve any video aids. As a result, we can sometimes narrate the story in an erroneous way which can lead to misinterpretation of the information. For an instance, people can adopt the improper method of articulating words. Perhaps it can be rectified when we listen to the video and see subtitles of the track. Thus, watching TV is dominant over reading anything.

Further, to create perceptions, it is the easiest way to watch TV because in reading any books, people have to think hypothetical with building concepts for it. Many supporters of reading books for contentment claims that reading imparts better cognitive skills to the individual. This essay argues reading like an old method of learning as only video aids like watching TV or seeing any videos helps to perceive critical concepts in the 3D pattern which stimulates the brain to be more innovative. Moreover, reading gives only a 2D representation of the story, thus it is not sufficient for wide illustrations.

To conclude, not only reading books is less effective but also a retire method of learning. Therefore, although I acknowledge reading is utterly convenient, this essay strong disagrees that it provides better imagination and language understanding than watching television.