It has been said that reading for pleasure is better in developing imagination and language skills than watching TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Leisure time are usually spend on entertainment and personal development. In this internet era, it is being noticed that the people tend to spend on watching video content than reading. It is often said that reading helps for nurturing the imagination development and improving linguistic skills, consequently, I totally agree with the views. Reading makes our brain think deeper and learn new words and phrases written by the writer.

Reading books, articles or newspaper, develops imagination skills and makes the reader a creative thinker. While reading the book, "Rich Dad, Poor Dad", by Robert Kiyosaki, the readers are destined to think about the hard-working character to become independent from the monotonous job. Moreover, the reader begins to create images the writer wants to portray, which broadens the perspective and thinking limitations. Thus it is justifiable that reading has positive development towards thought processing.

Subsequently, the learning of new vocabularies is easily achievable by reading. It is said that to improve language skills reading will not help to increase the word dictionary in the brain but also the way those can be used in different situations. To illustrate, pre-schooling begins with reading so that pupils understand and remember the ways sentences are made. Moreover, the books are defined as per the level of reader, so that one can select the book as per their level of language skills.

Watching video contents only leads to absorbing the story without imagining things, because it is already shown by the director. Furthermore, linguistic development depends upon listening abilities, and it is difficult to make a note of vocabularies used on television shows.

In my opinion, imagining capabilities and language skill upliftment by reading is more advantageous than watching television.