It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Educating children to distinguish between right and wrong has become a family concern and the process of learning should begin sooner for their safety. Sometimes there is no way except punishment that is practical and I believe the minor one could act as deterrent.

Children’s nature is unfamiliar with fear and they follow their curiosity which may lead them to a serious danger or problem and as their parents or teachers, taking care of them, warn and for the last step punishing is on our burden. As the one who is responsible for the quality of children’s care, we should be aware of how impose the punishment. It should not be mixed with the anger that comes from our anxiety because it could have a lifetime effect on them. However, being too lenient on their wrong action would definitely result in misbehavior and could put them in trouble.

In my point of view, punishment could have different levels of severity depend on the wrong step that our child take, while physical punishment should be abolished which mostly did in many countries. The purpose of punishing is to teach children how to be more discipline and rise the moral values not giving the feeling of hatred. Parents have many options to use as punishment, from stop talking for a while or do not pay them pocket money to forbidding play with their friends or postponing a promise until he or she shows regret. In addition, teachers could start with writing a warn letter and then by keeping them at class when the others are enjoying their break time.

In conclusion, although it is our duty to educate our kids to learn differences between good and bad and sometimes punishment are needed, I insist that physical punishments are dangerous to their health and the alternatives could be replaced.