It is important to give children the chance to act independently and make their own decisions from early age. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this idea?

There is an opinion that it is essential for children to have freedom of decision-making since early childhood. I partly agree with the statement. Youngsters should have a chance to operate independently to a certain degree. However, they should not have total absence of authority.

It is true that independent decision-making is crucial for the child development. Making their own decisions kids learn how to understand their own desires, they learn how to take responsibility for their own choices. For instance, a person who had enough opportunities to operate independently would become a confident adult with high-esteem. Personally, I did not have enough freedom to act on my own in my childhood. As a result, being an adult person I have some difficulties to make decisions without regretting about them.

In contrast, too much freedom may play a bad role in upbringing of a child. Thus, without parental control children may fall under influence of negative street environment or neglect school and play computer games. They may start smoking and drinking or taking drugs as well as juvenile crime is quite common in those families where children are neglected by their parents. Consequently, overindulgence leads to negative behavior of the youth and all benefits of independency disappear.

In conclusion, I believe that kids should have some independency in terms of taking daily life decisions, however parents should control child’s behavior and take measure in case of negative one. In other words, freedom of choice should be balanced by rules and parental control.