It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that the role of local history have valued for young students over against that of world history. While school students could benefit from later one, I tend to think that local history are more essential for them in terms of personality.

Studying world history could be useful and entertaining at the same time. Acquiring knowledge about past events of other nations could equipped students with more well-rounded outlook of life. Learning about the World War 2, for instance, can enhance their understanding about various aspects of the world in recent days. Besides that, it could be beneficial for their future while being taught about other countries’ background can cause lots of advantages for those who desire to work abroad. In another words, knowing their habits and cultures would possess a unique opportunity to work for foreign enterprises like Japanese. However, without learning their own history, young learners could not have a wide view about the whole world.

From another angle, teaching local history for students, especially younger ones, is vital and no one can deny the importance of it. Learning about their own history and pasts, in not only informative but also essential while it is for sure an indispensable part of their personality. Furthermore, it could developed youngsters’ patriotism whereas many of them do now know anything about how their fathers defeat outside intruders and built their desirable land. So as a consequences of knowing all these history, young students can be proud of who they are, their origin and treasure the life they have these days. In my opinion, for all learners, knowing about their history, for example their contemporary history such as revolutions, is not only their privilege but their responsibility about their ancestors.

In overall, although learning about world history is beneficial and sometimes may share equal importance just as local history, I believe the significance of domestic history is beyond comparison. Teaching history, no matter local or not, could be more entertaining if it involved some outside activity like visiting museum.