It is often argued that it is difficult to get children to read. Why do you think this is? What measures could be taken to encourage children to read more?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Children are agile in nature, wants to know the world very fast. They have tremendous amount of energy and they are capable of doing many things by utilizing this energy. One of the milestone that children need to achieve to learn about world is getting into the habit of reading. But, unfortunately it has seen often that to get children to read is quite difficult. I will explain in this essay that why is it difficult to get children read and will share all the possible measures that could be taken to encourage them to read more.

One of the basic nature of a child is to explore everything. Children does not enjoy reading as they are mobile in nature and do not like to sit at one place which requires in reading. The energy children hold is sometimes not channelized properly. As a result, they are not able to focus on one thing and their mind wanders here and there all the time. Whenever a child sit to read something he gets bored very soon because they do not find much to explore in reading.

Children are fond of new technology and this can play a vital role in improving their reading habits. Firstly, we can show online video lectures where different sounds and graphics can be used to attract children. Secondly, we can indulge children into group study where they have to read and discuss what they learned with others. This way children will experience a competition with other children and will focus more on reading to compete. For instance, when I was young we use to have a discussion class, we use to learn so much in this class due to the competition.

To sum up, a competitive environment can make children to read more and learn more. Initially they will do it for competition but eventually they will become habitual to reading.