It is often said that retirement is the happiest time of a person’s life. How far do you agree with this view?

Retirement brings mirth in older people's life, although very few able to visualize the positive aspects of it. It seems to me that retirement is the most contended period of life, and I will explain why in this essay.

Firstly, Retired people embark on journey to pursue their personal interests. This may include, active participation in community voluntary work, spend time with relatives, manage a blood donation campaigns, publish a book and indulge in "Go-Green" Environment friendly project. For Instance, about 6% to 8% of old people took active participation in the Teach for India cause to educate poor children, reported by education department. Secondly, Multinational companies lookout for retired people with people skills and consulting experience to fill in the top management slot on a part time or on a yearly contract basis. Older people receive plethora of opportunities in lieu of position, while all expense paid trip to visit places locally and internationally. Sometime companies ask retired people to become a spokesperson on behalf of the company in International Events and Exhibitions.

However, it is true that there some negative aspects to retirement, most notably the health, which deteriorate as the person becomes old and lack of finance in many case. Despite this, it seems that for many older people these issues are outweighed by pleasures which brings happiness and joy.

To conclude, the personal interests and freedom to live the life in the way one desire to live brings a new lease of life accompanies with no stress and depression.