It’s good to have English as a global language. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Explain your reasons and include relevant examples from your own experience.

It is not an exaggeration to mention that vernaculars are one of a driven-forces of human evolution. As one of the most popular language, there is an argument to consider English as a global tongue. However, in my opinion, I believe a variety of cultural and sociological differences are there because of the vernacular differences among people. Therefore, I strongly disagree to make English as a universal language.

It is undeniable that having a common tongue could greatly improve communication. Since English is a widely spread and alive language, if everybody started to speak in the same tongue there would not be language barriers and which could result in more effective dissemination of information. For instance, those who use different vernaculars frequently faced with translation issues as well as communication issues. In fact, these problems are excessively contributing to global business and technological development. Moreover, people of non-English speaking countries have to spend considerable amount of time to master the language which could have been used for other important skill development if English could treat as a global language.

However, cultural differences are the core factors which make the world a beautiful place. Not to mention that the travel and tourism industry is totally based on this and without much variety there would be nothing to enjoy. Evidently, UNESCO is protecting such vernaculars as a world heritage for future generations. Furthermore, if everybody started to communicate in the same tongue the abundance of dialects and cultures would be vanished in a very short time. Although English can ease up business and technological advancements, the world would be a monotonous place within a couple of centuries.

In conclusion, despite the advantages of business and development of making English as a global language, I believe by doing so, the indirect impact to the different cultures could be detrimental.