It is said that the amount of violence on the TV programmes has negative effect on our social development and therefore should be reduced.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Television, these days, has become one of the most significant mediums of communication. People spend their whole day watching a variety of shows. Some people believe that broadcasting violent shows on TV has adverse ramifications on people’s social growth. For that reason, reduction of it is essential. In my opinion, I completely agree with this viewpoint.

To begin with, aggression on TV has detrimental effects on people of disparate age groups, including adults and children. Although the former one is more sensible and mature enough in distinguishing between the reality and the fantasy, a sense of mistrust and insecurity is still prevalent among them. Children, on the other hand, are immature and this group is affected the most. They are inundated by an inordinate number of programmes, most of which depict crime investigation, or a serial killer. For example, Shooter and Peaky Blinder, both are crime-based shows. After watching it, youngsters try to imitate those actions in their real life. According to a recent survey, conducted by the students of Dehli University, more than 75 per cent of juvenile delinquency is because of these television programmes.

These problems could be resolved by taking apt actions. Governments have formed different regulatory bodies to regulate those shows. For instance, in India, IEMRA (Indian Electronic Media Regulatory Authority) monitors TV channels and numerous licenses have been revoked, during the last few years, because of law violation. Proper regulation by these bodies can easily solve these issues. Therefore, limitations ought to be implemented on it.

In summary, some TV programmes have deleterious impact on people of different age groups. I absolutely agree that it is a high time that concerned authorities should take action swiftly. If governments did not respond to it, it would be too late to mitigate the adverse effects of it on our society, which are evident in the form of increased crime rates.