It is true that in future being bilingual will help in the growth of career prospects. Whether children should start learning a new language in kindergarten or in secondary school is a never - ending debate. In my opinion, a child should begin learning a foreign lingo in primary school as they are benign.

On one hand, some people believe that secondary school children are mature enough to opt language they want to learn. This is because of their adaptation to the world has developed, however, in some scenarios it has been observed that rather than learning a new dialect child would prefer to learn other skills. Consequently, they come under high pressure from public schools to learn the language as a core subject. Thus, I believe that instead of pressuring them to learn a language as vernacular basic familiarization should be provided without any formal assessments.

On the other hand, others feel that children are benign and have the potential to learn a new language and inculcate multiple skills at the same time. The reason for this is that children at this age have high observation power and they progressively adapt and grasp to whatever being taught. For example, researches by the catalyst and other methods have shown conclusively that child from birth till they complete primary school can learn a new lingo similar to their mother tongue, whereas, this ability gradually decreases with time.

To conclude, although the choice of language to learn should be of that child, but I believe adopting a new language as a proficient user could only be possible if started from avery early stage of school.