Today, people can work and live in anywhere they want, because of the improvement of communication technology and transport.

Do advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Opinion and discussion essay

With the advent of internet, networking technology and advancements in transportation the life of employees have simplified. I agree that these improvements have enabled employees to work and live in any corner of the world and still remain in employers reach, but there are few drawbacks too. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the arguments and support the former view.

To begin with, there is drastic improvement in communication across the world. This is because, of introduction of free voice calls and video calls by the networks providers. For example, networks like Jio, Airtel are providing free voice calls to any other network, so nor the employees working from home or the employers have to worry about telephone bills. In addition, if an entire team wants to discuss about project kick off and task distribution that practicability could be offered by a software applications, such as skype thus, creating an aura of a meeting room, where direct conversations could be held.

Furthermore, other advancement which has been an asset to modern era is transportation. The reason for this are trams, trains, cars and flights which have reduced the travelling time by exponentional number of hours. For instance, now an employee can virtually attend a morning meeting in Delhi, noon meet Mumbai and meeting over dinner in Calcutta. In addition to this, travelling to a different time zone to monitor work status and return the same day is also possible because of fast travel modes like flights.

Conversely, the major drawback with communication technology is that some employer might call or drop an urgent mail without taking employee leisure time into consideration. Another downside, employees will find it difficult to have a good rapport with each other. This should be manager’s responsibility to overcome these drawbacks.

In conclusion, although employees will face some issues with the advancement in technology as employers might drop the work at any point of the day, I believe that the working at your own schedule will keep employees motivated and satisfied as their work-life balance will be fulfilling.