It is widely held belief that learning in home schools is better for the holistic development of children than learning in schools

It is widely held belief that learning in home schools is better for the holistic development of children than learning in schools.Although,many may see it as a positive phenomenon but this is not a trend without drawbacks. Both the merits and demerits will be discussed in the following paragraphs.

The first and foremost disadvantage is lack of conducive environment at home. Children learn about teamwork which would be substantially beneficial for the their future. Sense of competition would be encouraged in school rather that at home. A recent survey carried out by an eminent psychologist Mr. Robert Wadra at University of Stanford revealed that the children who have educated from home have 30% less brain power than the school goers.

The second disadvantage is the breach of discipline at home. Schools teach children about the time management and also the way of being regulated,which they have missed at home schools. Moreover, children indulge in extracurricular activities organised by the schools which can not be feasible at home.

On the other hand, study at home has also a positive aspect. The first advantage is flexible timings to study. Children can study whenever they want according to their convenience. Besides this, it will reduce the financial burden on the parents because nowadays schools are charging mammoth amount of fees.

After analysing both the views, I am of the opinion that children should go to school for their overall well-being.