Nowadays, there is widespread concern regarding the integration of different cultures. Some people advocate that settling down in a foreign country without the ability to speak its native language can cause both social and practical problems. From my perspective, these problems can be solved with the help of the Internet and of translation apps.

Being incapable of mastering the local language may not have negative influences on people. The key reason lies in the fact that it is easy for people to learn about other cultures because of the popular social media, which contains people all around the world. Therefore, natives may not know nothing about foreigners, but be curious about other nationalities, especially people appearing in the local community. Local people may also be willing to make friends with newcomers and instruct them on how to settle down in the local community. These behaviours can, to some extent, avoid culture shock or confliction, which may lead to social problems.

In terms of practical problems, lacking the ability to speak the local language may not obstruct the communication newcomers and locals. Because English is becoming more and more popular, they can exchange their ideas in English, if both of them are English speakers. Even if one of them do not have that ability, they can also use some translation apps, which have already gained powerful function.

In conclusion, due to the development of science and technology, the barrier between people who speak a different language is eliminated constantly. Problems resulted by culture confliction and language misunderstanding may be solved in the future.