A lot of old people are suffering from loneliness these days. They also lack physical fitness.

What do you think are the reasons for this problem?

Can you think of possible solutions?

It has been observed that a majority of old people nowadays experiencing desolation and are also physically unfit. While the major reason behind this problem is metamorphic change in family structures, to solve this people need to return back to old joint family living.

It seems people in these days are more inclined towards nuclear families and this perhaps resulting in parents and grandparents left isolated in villages. People, especially youngsters, prefer to live in metro cities owing to better lifestyle and career opportunities by abandoning their elders in villages. This can also be attributed to expensive lifestyle of cities and apathetic attitude of children towards their parents, but as a result of this aged people are forced to live the life of misery and utter desolation.

As far as their physical fitness is concerned, when they realise they are neglected by their own children and grandchildren, they get huge emotional and psychological set-back which results in lack of motivation to exercise. Therefore, in such circumstances the most elderly people adopt sedentary lifestyle and fall prey to weak health.

In order to tackle this predicament people should revert back to old ways of living in joint families. Unlike these days when elders are considered worthless and burden, in the past they were given the command of whole family so that they feel important and honoured. Thus, returning to old ways of living their vitality in family paradigm will increase which is essential to keep them motivated and lively.

So in overall, I would say old people feel secluded and unhealthy mainly because of changing family structures, however this can be addressed through adopting traditional joint living.