Parents often give children everything they ask for and do what they like. Is it good thing for children? What are the consequences when they grow up?

It is often seen that parents tend to fulfill every request of their children and buy whatever they ask for. In my opinion, this behaviour of parents is detrimental to children in the long run as they will inherit a stubborn attitude and will be less appreciative of the received gifts.

It would seem that parents provide their offspring with everything just to keep them busy or quiet. However, when a child adamantly pester for something and eventually got those things easily, a sense of effectiveness about this method infused in them, which results in their stubborn behaviour in later part of the life. For instance, if a child had received desired things easily, he would expect the same from life in adulthood, which perhaps is not possible in every case, thereby, they turn hostile and frustrated when cravings not fulfilled.

Apart from this, an attainment of everything without any rigours effort will lead lead to unappreciative attitude in children towards these things. They will not value them much as its the result of their pestering not the reward they have earned on achieving something by struggle. Therefore, such children will inculcate an unwanted trait that discourage them to strive hard in life to achieve life goals. For instance, if a child receives a bike as a reward of achieving first position in classroom, unlike others, who just got without any exceptional thing, he will value it more and continue to achieve things with hard work.