The older people who need employment have to compete with younger ones. What problems can this create ? What are some solutions ?

Undoubtedly, in this world of stiff competition many old individuals strive against youngsters for employment. The principal problem this causes is that they often lose battle against young job seekers so they remain unemployed or work on low wages and the most viable solution would be to continuously upgrade their working skills in order to keep them in job hunt.

The major problem associated with competing against freshers for gray population is that they are less likely to grab that opportunity, because of their deteriorating health and lack of technological skills. It is a well-known fact that hiring companies often give preference to young graduates over aged people as they are more adapted with technology thereby can perform work efficiently and present a long-term prospect to the company. Therefore, in spite of having better experience and qualifications mostly old job seekers face job denial, if not, have to work on lower salaries compared with youngsters. This situation is traumatizing and can fall them prey to depression and other psychological problems.

To tackle this predicament government and companies need to work in synergy. Government on the one hand should launch skill update programs both for employed and unemployed aged people in which they can get required training about advanced working methods and cutting edge technology. Organisations on the other hand should co-operate with government and allow employees to update themselves by attending such programs so that they don't have to compete with anyone in later part of their lives. Also, companies need to follow impartial and qualification based hiring criteria without any bigotry or prejudice with old aspirants.

To conclude, older people are most likely to lose their ground to young candidates while competing for the same job due to their less familiarity with technology, however, this problem can be addressed through providing them adequate training regarding latest working techniques.