Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology is now replacing their functions. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Computer technology has made information available at a click of a button. This phenomenon has led certain people to believe that maintaining public libraries is waste of valuable resources, as libraries have been replaced by online websites and discussion forums. Though, I do not agree with their view.

Students are greatly benefited by the relevant and detailed information available at their disposal. With the help of computers they no longer need to check in the library if the book is available and if not, what is the waiting period. Use of computers and internet saves precious time for the students. As the prime reason for libraries is no longer relevant in today’s age. It is correct on the part of certain people to say maintaining of public libraries is waste of money.

Whereas, information available on internet is not always accurate. As more and more individuals have access to sharing information, it has been observed that much of it is incorrect and without any proof to support. Moreover, computers and websites sharing information are always at the risk of a virus attack, which can wipe out all the data within a fraction of a second. Therefore, maintenance and updation of public libraries is essential as it can serve as a vital tool of information at any given time.

In my opinion, computers and internet are a valuable resource as it saves time and provides convenience. But maintaining public library is necessary as internet information at times can be incorrect and unavailable, unlike libraries.