In many cities and towns, the high volume of road traffic is a problem. What are the causes and what are the solutions?

Question: In many cities and towns, the high volume of road traffic is a problem. What are the causes and what are the solutions?

Answer:

Traffic congestion because of the number of vehicles is a common issue nowadays, especially in several urban regions. This essay will discuss that the possible cause of this problem is the rise in private or transportation and submit that the improvements in the current public transportation system are a feasible solution.

Technological development and an affordable price of vehicles have made the market so reliable that every common man is purchasing a private car or bike easily nowadays. For instance, a recent survey claimed that there is a hike of 60% to 65% in the number of new automobiles coming on the road every year. As people find traveling in their personal more affordable and comfortable, they use those even their destination is at a quite walkable distance.

The principal solution to this problem of the traffic jam is that concern authorities ought to improve the government-sponsored transportation in cities. For example, the BRTS bus facility in Surat, Gujarat could reduce traffic by 20% to 25% within the last 2 years. As that bus service is much cheaper and more frequent in availability, people are preferring to commute via public transportation. This is why even in peak hours the amount of road congestion is reduced effectively.

In conclusion, more and more people are buying their private vehicles, so roads are becoming full of traffic. If the corporations improve the existing public transportation, the commuters will use that facility, and this is how road traffic will be reduced.