Question: In some countries, some of the criminal cases in the law courts are shown on the television, so that the public can watch them. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the court hearings regarding any criminal cases are being telecasted on TVs in many nations like the USA. It has both pros and cons. Personally, I feel that the disadvantages of such broadcasts largely outweigh its advantages because these practices act as a negative influencer in society.

Proponents of the court’s proceedings on the media cite a host of benefits. Clearly, they show such processes on the TVs with an aim of maintaining peace in society, the concern authorities know that if common civilians’ wold see these strict actions against the criminals, people would think twice before committing any crimes. A new report, for example, shows that there was an impressive amount of reductions in the crime percentage after the US government released a tv series based on the court hearings. This definitely can work better, where the implementation of the rules and the laws are firm.

On the other hand, one must think about the consequences of airing crucial hearings. That victim may have to face societies’ disrespect towards him or her and to their family members. On the bad side, once such criminals come out of jail, the embarrassment that they felt may provoke them to commit a more dangerous crime. This can be even worse when any innocent comes in the trap of the courts.

Furthermore, this is the era of technology where everyone wants to be famous within a night. Particularly, the teenager may take criminals’ court hearings as a source of free publicity and as a result, any immature child might do some anti-social work. Despite any criminal history, any juvenile may ruin his or her life through the false dreams of popularity.

In conclusion, of course, many countries have initiated taking good steps for their civilians only, but the government ought to see both sided of any decisions. I believe that the government must maintain privacy regarding many crucial matters.