In many countries around the world young people decide to leave their parents’ home once they finish school. They start living on their own or sharing a house with friends. Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples.

Nowadays it is becoming increasingly common for youngsters to start their independent life moving out of their parents’ home after graduation from school. This trend has positive effects on society and the reasons behind it will be discussed next in this essay.

There are various benefits for both young people and their parents when an individual starts living independently after finishing school. Young adults, in this way, have to take care of their daily needs, from household chores, cooking, or cleaning to financial independence. Thus, instead of wasting time on childish activities, they are motivated to learn skills and work part-time or full-time to incurs their living expenses. Although it might seem challenging for them to live on their own at first, it would give them valuable experience, helping them to become mature, responsible adults. Parents would also be pleased with this practice since they can enjoy their own lives by having more time for them. Not only would they have financial flexibility, due to the independence of children, but they also don’t have to change their lifestyle/habits in order to adapt to the new generation’s lifestyle. For instance, it allows many people to travel around the world, which would be impossible if their children were to stay with them after finishing high school.

Admittedly, there might be challenges involved in this way of life. In some cases, young people under influence of new roommates and friends without any expert supervision might get involved in drugs or petty crime. However, instead of keeping their children close through adulthood, parents should prepare them to distinguish between right and wrong from tender ages and teach them to take responsibility for their actions.

In conclusion, however, there are many consequences in this way of living but its positive impact on young minds outweighs its drawbacks. I believe that early independence makes adults responsible citizens for society.