Plastic bags, once an invention of science has become a nuisance for the society today. They are the main source of rubbish causing danger to not only sea life but also human beings. I completely agree with the statement. In this essay, I will explain the reasons for it.

To begin with, plastic is non biodegradable material, it can not be destroyed by natural means. It can only be disposed off by buring which causes air pollution, as burning of plastic emits harmful gases. Secondly, many countries do not have enough resources to recycle the plastic as it involves the huge expenditure from setting the plant to labour employed. These countries have huge problem of plastic disposal, most of them dispose it in the oceans or beneath the ground. It disturbs the ocean life, as plastic consumed by fishes leads to their death. In a recent studies, it was found out that death of most of the whales is caused due to plastic consumption. Thirdly, plastic buried beneath the ground causes infertility to soil. Strength of soil to withstand the plant decreases enormously, also depriving it from necessary nutrients required by plant for proper growth.

Apart from this, plastic causes ill effect on food stored in it. It is advised by the health experts not to use platic bags to pack the food for children. Moreover, plastic bags are not neccesity, it can be replaced by other biodegradable material such as paper. In most of the developed country they have already been replaced by paper bags. Big stores and outlets, accepting their responsibility towards society have started using either paper bags or cotton bags. As far as economically weaker countries are concerned, they can be aided by the world organisations to set up recycling plants to recycle the plastic bags thus stopping it from going into the oceans.

In conclusion, responsibility of protecting the earth and its enviorment lies with human race so we must do our best to protect it. Diversity of life both on land and sea is in danger, strict and quick actions are required to save them. Together by giving up plastic we can serve the nature and set a positive precedence.