In many countries, a prison sentence is considered as the best way to decrease crime. However, education is often argued as a more effective way.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is no doubt that increased crime rates in many countries can be a major concern for both governments and civilians. Although some people believe that education is the appropriate way to reduce crimes, I would argue that penalizing by prison is the best accepted method.

On the one hand, those who believe education can decrease crimes might argue that it can bring a lot of changes in criminal’s life. This is because most of them are illiterate and unemployed, who are struggling to find their daily bread. For example, a thief, who is convicted for shoplifting, has done that act may be to feed his family. If he is given proper education, he can recognize his skills, and can start working to meet his needs instead of getting ended up in crimes. As a result, education is essential to change any criminal to better individuals, thereby reducing the crime rates.

On the other hand, my view is that this can be diminished only if proper law and order is maintained, and penal system is the best approach to be followed. This is because it figures a sense of repentance to criminals; spreading a strong message to people who may be thinking of committing such crimes. For instance, burglars and murderers, who are condemned, must be harshly penalized so that they would not commit such an act ever. In contrast, if there is no prison sentence, the countries will be occupied with surplus number of criminals, which can be enough to destroy our lands. Therefore, in order to avoid that situation, prison sentence must be imposed.

In conclusion, despite the education can reduce crime rates, it is my firm belief that prison sentence is a vital step on the path to change the criminals to better individuals.