Many Countries believe that punishing a criminal by imprisoning him is the apt way of reducing the number of crimes. Whereas, other opine that education is the key to eradicate the crimes in the nation. In my opinion, education should definitely be the first choice but there might be situation where punishment is necessary.

Certain people believe that punishment is important for the criminal. In some cases, people repeatedly involve in crimes without any feeling. They neither have guilt nor any repentance for the criminal activities they indulge themselves into. For example, A criminal named Ted Bundy committed several rapes, murders and kidnapping until he was arrested by the police. The Police reported more than 100 victims and several other cases could not be proved. Moreover, when the officials interrogated him, the accused did not have any regret for the crimes he committed. In these cases, it is right to send the criminal to prison because there is no way that this person will stop from committing in gruesome crimes.

On the flip side, there might be situations where people are forced to commit crimes. A major number of the criminals are uneducated. Due to poverty and lack of education they are not able to find a job to earn their living which in turn pushes them towards crimes like robbery and stealing. For example, the begging rackets exposed by the media few years back in India, where small children walk on the traffic signals begging, and as soon as the signal light turns green, they snatch the bags from the people and run away. In these conditions educating the youth might save them from continuing these ways to acquire money.

To conclude, even though education is considered the most effective way of reducing the criminal activities, there might be cases where imprisonment of the criminal is necessary for the safety of the country.