In many countries, the proportion of older people is increasing. Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on society?

Discuss and give your opinion

Due to advancement in medical science along with the improved and affordable healthcare facilities around the world, there has been a major reduction in the mortality rate. This phenomenon has led to an exponential increase in the number of elder people. Although it is a good trend, I believe this is only going to harm society in the future.

A large portion of government fund is reserved for paying the retirement benefits. As the population of the old people is increasing, the amount of money reserved is also increasing thereby putting a huge burden on countries financial system. In some countries, this is even responsible for their economic collapse. For instance, India has stopped paying benefits to its people so that they can use this money for infrastructure development.

In addition to it, increasing immortality rate has led to over population. Because of this, there is a huge strain on the resources of the countries. In some cases, to feed the population, countries have to resort to import foodgrains which results in widening of the balance of payment. For instance, Srilanka had to import rice to meet the requirements of its people.

Moreover, young people are struggling to get a job. The primary reason attributed to this is that older people are not quitting their jobs due to their improved health. As a result of this, the vacancy remains closed for the younger generation. This puts them in a state of depression and sometimes also pushes them toward criminal activity.

All in all, according to me, having older people around is definitely a fantastic thing but it has more dire consequences to the society.