In many countries, there are an increasing number of provate cars. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In today’s era, better transportation has become everyone’s basic need. The number of people owning a car are increasing drastically. It has both benefits and drawbacks, which will be discussed in subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, there are numerous advantages of a car. Firstly, it is the quickest way of travelling from one place to another than publuc transport or bicycles, as people do not have to book for a vehicle in advance and wait for them. To illustrate, I myself used to take a public bus to my school and have experienced it takes almost double time to go there than by car. Moreover, cars are much more convenient for travelling. Having comfortable seats and other technologies help people not only to feel better and relax but also make them do anything such as reading books, listen to their favorite music and so on.

On the contrary, despite having merits of cars, there are some demerits too which cannot be ignored. Initially, more the number of cars on the road, the more air pollution would be. This is due to the fossil fuels emitted by them. As a result, it would cause some people to suffer from heart diseases, respiratory problems, and cancers. Apart from this, buying a car is expensive and cannot be afforded by everyone. This is because of some extra costs such as fuel, insurance, and many more. Furthermore, traffic problems as well as accidents also occur from more cars. For example, an article published in newspaper has shown that more than 30% accidents are the consequence of increased number of vehicles on roads.

To conclude, every development has both positive and negative outcomes. Although it is vital to have an own car, people should be aware of the downsides and restrict the usage of such vehicles.