In many countries, there is shortage of mathematics and science teachers in high school.

What do you think has caused this problem and what can be done about it?

With reference to the interview of a college principal published in Dawn newspaper last Sunday, the main problem he complained about was lack of mathematics and technology teachers in the institutions. This problem is being faced by many countries. Before offering a solution, it is important to first investigate the root causes.

The major reason of scarcity of technical subjects’ teachers is, a small percentage of students opt these subjects for higher education as these subjects are difficult to study. Since there are less graduates of these courses, that is why there are less number of teachers for these subjects. In my country, Pakistan, many universities now no longer offer these high-tech subjects because very less number of students enrol in these studies due to high difficulty level.

In continuation to the first reason of difficult subjects, the technological professionals do not receive handsome amount of salaries in the teaching profession. Consequently, these teachers leave the educating institutes and join other industries with increased perks. I personally know one of my physics professor who left the high school teaching and started serving in a research lab due to monetary benefits.

In order to fill the vacuum of less professors from science and mathematics fields, some serious steps need to be taken. First, stipends should be awarded to science and maths students in order to encourage them to study these subjects. As a result, more students will study these subjects and the market gap will be filled. Second, the teachers of science and mathematics, should be rewarded with higher salaries as these courses and these subjects are difficult to teach. The recent step taken by the German Prime Minister, for increasing the salaries of the teachers associated with technical subjects, is remarkable.

To conclude although there is a shortage of technical courses teachers, but it can be minimized by the aforesaid solutions. If these steps are taken, it will not only benefit the students but also the teaching profession.