In many countries today people are choosing to have fewer children. WHY is this the case? WHAT are the effects of this trend on society?

Nowadays, more and more families opt for having less number of children than before. Not only this essay will discuss the reasons behind this trend but it will also clarify some of its positive impacts on society.

There are two main explanations why many families are adopting the idea of birth control these days. Firstly, with each born child comes a great responsibility in terms of healthcare, education, activities and many others. In order to fulfill all these basic needs, parents should have a decent income that matches the soaring prices of such needs. Thus, having fewer children means better quality of life for each child. Secondly and more importantly, rearing children is an arduous mission these days. To illustrate, children nowadays are surrounded with vast numbers of hazards due to the negative effects of the digital era that they live in, social media pressure for example, which has made children more susceptible for inappropriate contents. Therefore, families with fewer children are more probably able to supervise their children and protect them.

Additionally, this trend has its positive development on society. If such trend becomes more prevalent, the financial burdens on the shoulders of the government will decrease dramatically by the decrease in the number of population. For instance, Egypt has been adopting birth control system since 2015, as the number of population reached 100 million, and this system has paid off as it has fixed the rate in birth by 2% since then. Moreover, when children receive proper education and supervision, they are more likely to become more stable and highly qualified citizens who can serve their communities and lead their countries to brighter future.

To conclude, the widespread phenomenon of having fewer children could be attributable to the financial state and the dire need of parents to protect the children, and it evidently has considerable benefits on society’s progress.