In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

It seems to be an increasingly widespread concern that there are fewer young people interested in reading newspapers and the news on TV. There is a wide range of causes has been identified and need to be addressed.

In the past, people got to know what happened lately by reading newspapers or watching the news on TV. This is no longer the case. Due to the rapid development of technology, young people nowadays are fascinated by the Internet and become disinterested in keeping up-to-date with the latest news. For example, many young people are likely to spend straight hours watching videos on Youtube or posting pictures on Facebook and Instagram. Another important factor contributing to this phenomenon is that many students are under much pressure on studying and have no time reading news. Vietnam’s education system is an example; after school, most of the students tend to go to private tuition to learn Math, Chemistry, Physics or English. Therefore, advanced technology and the education system are the root causes of this phenomenon.

There are two effective solutions to this problem. One way to tackle this lying on parents who should educate their children about the importance of reading newspapers. All levels of education can be a good starting point to develop the realisation that newspapers are the great way to get the current day’s news. By doing this, it will help them to develop good reading habits. Another solution is for schools to encourage pupils to be involved in the writing of articles and submissions. This solution could be attributed students to read the news on a daily basis.

In conclusion, the responsibility for solving this problem lies with parents and schools. If they implemented these solutions, many young people would be soon read newspapers and update news on TV.