The high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising but not the real need of the society where such products are sold do. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is widely thought that advertisements are an effective tool to boost their sales, which also has led to a negative impact on consumers’ purchase behaviours. In my opinion, I agree that advertisements are influencing people’ shopping habits.

Advertisements are essential for companies to create demand for products, resulting in companies boosting their sales, profits and promote economic development. Companies use many advertisement methods ranging from newspapers to television to inform consumers about the choices that they have, which is an indirect way to affect their purchase decisions. Additionally, commercials are also the way to promote a company’s image to consumers, meaning that it bridges the gap between consumers and manufacturers. Therefore, many companies now spend thousands of dollars to hire celebrities, including sportspeople and singers to promote their products mainly because they are well-known and many have a positive influence on people.

On the other hand, the negative effects of advertising should not be overlooked. First, it aims to persuade people to buy unnecessary things. For example, a smartphone company, like Samsung, always upgrades its system and features, such as a camera to encourage consumers to change their phones annually to have the latest model, which is a waste of money. Furthermore, consumers are encouraged to associate with certain brands with a higher status. A good example is fashionable companies, such as Prada and Gucci, are using celebrities to promote its products and young people, therefore, are likely to imitate their models and follow the new trend. Consequently, it creates an unnecessary need of the society and put pressure on them to follow the new trend.

In conclusion, while the advertisement is an effective tool for companies to increase its sales, I believe that it brings many negatives to the need of society.