Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with.

What are the disadvantages and advantages for the child of having a large number of toys?

It is commonly believed that many children are likely to play with toys and ask their parents to buy them things. However, whether parents should buy a wide range of toys for their children has caused heated debate. Having many toys would properly have many benefits, but there will also be some drawbacks.

One evident benefit of having a variety of toys is that it would promote the child’s language development. There are many toys in the market which can help to develop spelling, reading and communication skills for children of any ages. Another reason is that toys can be the tools to develop children’s brain. With many educational toys, parents can teach their children to learn to count and recognize different colours by using pictures or items. Therefore, a variety of toys would nurture the child’s language and brain, resulting in a healthier development.

On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages to having so many toys. Firstly, other parents are too lenient and spoil their children by buying whatever their children they want, which can result in a negative effect on the children’s personality traits. If children do not have things they want, they will behave badly towards their parents. Secondly, children may become targets of envy from classmates, if they are perceived as having more possessions than their peers. In other words, this would put children in danger because they may be bullied by their classmates.

In conclusion, while there many plus points to having a variety of toys, too much would be negative as a result. It would seem that one of the many duties of parents is to make an informed choice about how many toys they buy for their young ones.