Some people feel that entertainers are paid too much money.

Do you agree or disagree?

Which other types of job should be highly paid?

It is commonly believed that entertainment plays a fundamental role in society as stars entertain millions of people. However, whether stars should be paid huge salaries has caused heated debate. In my view, I agree with the view that stars in the entertainment business are usually over paid.

First, it is clear that stars earn too much money even though they do not provide a vital service. Football players, for example, earn enormous salaries by simply kicking a ball, compared with teachers, who are never listed among the best-paid professionals, yet they are more important to our future. We could live happily without professional football or stars of film. Therefore, it is not necessary for stars of film, sport or music to get paid higher than other jobs.

Those who object to this opinion may claim that stars have dedicated hours of practice to developing their fitness and skills, so it is fair that they should earn a lot of money. However, perhaps this is true, but other vital professionals, including doctors and engineers, also devote their time to studying and doing much research. That is to say, stars salaries should be compatible with the wages other professionals earn.

Unfortunately, professionals from other fields, who make a significant contribution to human society, are paid so much less. Society does not seem to value professions like doctors, engineers and other vital professionals as highly as professional sport.

In conclusion, stars play some roles in entertainment; nevertheless, I put forward the view that their salaries are unjustifiable. Doctors and engineers are more beneficial than stars; therefore, equally payment to these professionals can guarantee the harmonious development of a society.