New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is widely believed that cutting-edge technologies have an influence on the way children spending their leisure time. However, whether technology has more harms than benefits is a controversial issue. In my view, I argue that technologies bring more benefits than drawbacks

There is a main benefit towards the technology is that children can obtain information in various ways. Nowadays, children can have instant access to the Internet which provides all kinds of information, ranging from current affairs to entertainment news. For example, Youtube has a wide range of videos about animals, history, and music, or New York Times offers a huge amount of daily news. Another point to note is that many young people can learn a new language without going to private classes. As a result, new technologies promote study habits and enrich their knowledge.

On the other hand, the availability of technologies can also have the result of affecting children’s psychology and health. Back to those days when there were no technologies, children interacted with their peers face-to-face and played many physical activities. But, there is no longer the case. Young generations now are likely to spend much time living on the virtual world and make friends online rather than mixing with their peers. This can result in weakening the relationships with friends and being isolated from the real world. Another consideration is that children would become weak and have many problems, such as diabetes because they spend less time doing physical exercises.

In conclusion, while technologies have both pros and cons, it is safe to say that the advantages are outweighed disadvantages