Nowadays, the crime rate is increasing at an alarming rate around the globe. Profound research has shown that the criminals even after being punished for their crime, found to commit a crime again after they are released from prison. There are several causes behind the scenario. In this essay, I will provide a couple of reasons with practical ways to tackle such situations by relevant endorsements.

Firstly, considering the newbies at crime, they could be several distress calls in their life which triggered them to commit the first crime. During imprisonment, they are acquainted with the most notorious criminals in the jail premises. This act of officials, place the newbies under an ambiguous situation to regret or to take it easy. Taking it easy is an effortless solution under their influence. This can be endorsed by research conducted at National Jail of Singapore that compares newbies sent to jail with sending to rehab centers. The outcome was surprising, 78% returned from jail ended up committing a crime again, while it is only 2% in the other scenario.

Moreover, society does not accept the criminals once they are released. There are even some cases where their own family isolates them. Also, it is arduous for them to find jobs, so for the survival, they tend to commit a crime again. To handle such situations, the government need to take measures in supporting them. For instance, the Singapore government is utilizing services from criminals based on their capabilities, even this helps the governing bodies to keep an eye on those individuals for an ample amount of time.

To sum up, prevention is always better than cure. Criminals are just like us and their personal situations dragged them to such subtle situations. Authorities need to take necessary steps in rehabbing the criminals and provide support with employment opportunities. Alternatively, they need to take forceful measures to develop a crime free society.