From the past, several educational institutions follow firm rules regarding their pupils’ appearance, whereas limited organizations turn a blind eye. Despite the fact that these strict rules help in building discipline among their pupils, it also interferes with the creativity. In this essay, I will analyze the merits and demerits before providing my conclusion.

With regards to benefits, it is a proven fact that a strict dress code reduces on-campus bullying among the students. Although clothes are considered to be a status symbol, that should not trigger the gap between the rich and the poor. Thus, school uniforms put every student on the same line preventing bullying of this type. Furthermore, it develops a sense of unity and togetherness among students. Similarly, it helps you to get ready in much less time when you already know what to wear.

Alternatively, there are drawbacks too. For example, consider my cousin from fifth grade says that her school is very strict and gets severe punishment if she does not wear a uniform properly. This act engulfs students from expressing their personalities and stop them from being creative. Every student aspires to some dream when they become an adult such as becoming a doctor, lawyer and so on. They tend to show their interests in their personal belongings and attire. Furthermore, uniforms sold by the organization are overpriced than in stores. I personally experienced this at my school.

Taking everything into consideration, I pen down to say that, training discipline and making them feel united at the budding stage can be an asset for their life. Although there are some negative effects like overselling, teachers considering the student’s interest into account and support them accomplish their goals will help the buds stand in the limelight.